Canape


The last dish Minoo made for the seniors Christmas celebration is Canape. Canape is a finger food which often served during cocktail hours. Canape are usually salty or spicy. Traditionally, canape are build on stale while bread but for simplicity, we use baguette as the base and topped with a mixture of olives and nuts.

canape-11

Minoo made two different flavours of canape, one with black olives and another with green olives. I prefer the one with black olives as it’s milder in taste. For those who love olives, the green one has a more intense olives flavour.

Ingredients

canape-19-300x200 canape-18-300x200
canape-17-300x200

Click on Read More for the instructions.

Instructions

canape-16-300x200Slice the baguette diagonally, about 1/2 inch thick.
Brush with olive oil.
canape-15-300x200Slice the olive, shelled the pistachio, toast the almond slices and zest the citrus fruit.
canape-14-300x200Drizzle the olives, nuts and zest with some olive oil.
canape-13-300x200Place them in a food processor and pulse it until grainy, not too smooth.
canape-12-300x200Add some freshly ground black pepper to the mixture and mix well. Spread the mixture on the baguette.
canape-101-300x200Broil the canape on a baking sheet until the edge is golden brown.Minoo and Stella, thank you for organizing such an ambitious Christmas celebration for the seniors kitchen. Thank you all the seniors for their participation and hope to see you all again next year.

3 thoughts on “Canape

  1. Great blog!

    I don’t know if it’s too many gadgets on the blog or one of your gadgets is iffy. The blog freezes my browser every time I check out your site. Just saying.

    • Hi Sofie:
      What do you mean when you say that your browser freezes? I have heard of this happening for some readers but could not really pin point what exactly it is. Could you tell me what browser you are using?
      Ben

  2. When I first read this post I had never heard of Canape but was so intrigued I had to try it for myself. I made it for some friends and they loved it. I found the mix of flavors so interesting. This is a great appetizer to go with some good wine.

Leave a comment