Pickled Mustard and Tofu Soup


Ben complained that he had not had home made clear soup for some time. I know what he wants. He wants something with some meat and tofu in the soup — old fashioned Chinese soup. This is what I call the Pickled Mustard and Tofu Soup, or in Cantonese the Hum Choy Tou Fu Tong … is that spelt right? πŸ™‚

_MG_5395_edited-1

One of the main ingredients is the chinese traditional tofu. This is the type that is a bit coarse, not like the smooth or soft type. The hum choy, or pickled mustard, is what give the soup it’s salty flavour. For meat, I bought some roasted pork feet from the chinese BBQ shop, you know, the ones that sell roasted pork. Roasted pork feet is cheap and costs only $1 each. I used three feet for this soup.

I know, I know … pork feet sounds gross. If you prefer you may use pork ribs, shoulder, etc. This soup tastes best with pork.

_MG_5389_edited-1

The pickled mustard is salty. I rinse it out from the packaging with water to wash away some saltiness. I also cut it into chunks.

_MG_5390_edited-1

The traditional chinese tofu (also known as firm tofu) is made by coagulating soy milk and then pressing the resulting cords into blocks. The process is very similar to making cheese from milk.

_MG_5392_edited-1

I first blanch the roasted pork feet (which are already cooked) in boiling water for 2 minutes to get rid of the access oil as they could be very greasy.

I then put all the three ingredients into a big pot of water. I bring it to a boil before continuing to cook it for 1 hour in low heat. If I cook it at high heat, the tofu will break up.

_MG_5394_edited-1

Let me know what you think! πŸ™‚

7 thoughts on “Pickled Mustard and Tofu Soup

  1. Pingback: Hon’s on No. 3 Road revisited |
  2. Hi Lidia,
    I did not put any garlic or ginger to this soup. Not even salt as the pickled mustard is salty. There is no harm to throw in some garlic or ginger or even whole white peppercorns if you like.

  3. hello suanne,
    i remember this type of soup from mom/grandmother’s cooking, then i searched “pickled mustard” and stumbled upon your site. wonder if you need to put any seasonings, garlic or ginger? your site is awesome with your daily updates πŸ™‚

  4. Hi Kirk: Pig’s feet are wonderful — chicken feet is better! πŸ™‚ Sometimes I feel so embarassed eating these stuff but they are simply delicious. BTW, I love your site and visits it everyday. keep up the good work.

Leave a comment